A Most Excellent Cycle To Kilcrea Castle And Ballincollig Regional Park

The weather is getting better and it’s time to get out a lot more. This time of year can actually be a bit bittersweet for me, because I have quite bad travel anxiety. During the Winter I don’t mind not traveling anywhere, because, it’s Winter. I think, like many people, the thought of going more than two miles from my house when it’s cold and raining, and also when it’s windy, and the wind is cold, and the wind being cold in and of itself is bad enough but also it’s blowing rain, which is also cold, into your face, makes me want to stay indoors, only emerging very briefly to go to the supermarket, and patting myself on the back for doing so in such bad weather. What was my point again? Even I’m after getting lost.

I could have gone somewhere near my house, like the Lough or Fitzgerald’s park or the Glen River park. But sometimes hot weather, that big blue sky, gives me a sense of adventure, I wanted to go somewhere far away, and on the bike I’d be in the outdoors for the duration of the journey. So the decision was made. I would be telling my travel anxiety it could fuck right off and I was going to Kilcrea castle!

The nice thing about the Kilcrea route is that while the castle itself is in a beautiful rural area, the route itself has a shop at least every five miles. With for example the Nagle mountains, which is one of my favourite places, you’re talking very few shops, so you have to be very careful about packing enough food and water before you go. With the Kilcrea route it’s simple, you feel hungry or thirsty, you just stop cycling and go into a shop.

The route’s also relatively safe. There are cycle lanes from Cork City all the way through Ballincollig, not always the most well maintained, but they offer a place of safety from the cars, and once you leave Ballincollig it’s quiet country roads from then on.

It’s also got very few hills, this is great when you haven’t done a long cycle in a while and you’re kind of doubting your confidence, don’t worry, it’s mostly flat!

I arrived in the area that contains Kilcrea Castle and Kilcrea Friary. And let me tell you, this place is simply heaven. The fields there remind me of a specific scene from the Shawshank Redemption, where Red digs up the package that Andy left for him, the package that would start him on a new wonderful life after being released from prison. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, okay, we need to address that right now, why haven’t you watched the Shawshank Redemption?

So this is Kilcrea Friary:

I always loved the way it looks among the trees

Beautiful Fields

Magnificent Architecture

This was built in the 15th century. It was sacked a number of times in the 1500’s, but still it stands. But, if you want to see something that’s even more impressively intact, something that has really weathered the centuries, well, then just cross the road.

Kilcrea Castle In the Distance

Castles in Ireland tend to come in 3 varieties. Ones that the centuries have not been kind to, and now all that’s left is a fraction of a wall. Ones that are basically extremely touristy, like Blarney Castle. Now I know a lot of people love Blarney Castle, and I don’t want to take that away from them, I’ve been there and it is quite nice. But I would argue that to truly experience the beauty of these old buildings, you need to be there on your own. Or perhaps just encounter one or two other people, and have a really pleasant talk about the history of the castle. But when it’s crowded with tourists, that’s not for me, and not just because of my sensory issues. I love how stepping into Kilcrea castle, I can hear my footsteps echoing through the building, and I love talking in there to hear my words echoing too. There is something about this emptiness that is just magical, this silent sentry has watched over Ireland, and seen everything, it stood before the motorcar came to Ireland, it stood before Ireland received electricity, it stood before television, when Ireland got its first airport, it was always there. I was born in 1985, and it seems like I’ve seen a lot, and lived through a lot, but when I was born, Kilcrea Castle was almost as old as it is now.

And the third variety of castle is the one that is locked. You can’t get in. That’s it. You can take a photo from outside, and that’s it. But Kilcrea Castle is one of my absolute favourite castles to visit. First of all, not locked, you can get in, that’s a plus. And as already stated, it’s not flooded with tourists. And, it is so well preserved. Other than the roof being missing, I’m amazed at how intact the castle is, for more than five hundred years it has stood, and it’s looking great! Here are some photos so you can see what I mean.

The Castle in the Background, AND HORSES YAAAAAY!!!!

Surrounded By Trees

I love the fact that the castle is surrounded by trees, it makes you feel like you are stepping into a mysterious land. Now that I think of it, I don’t understand why every fantasy film wasn’t filmed in Kilcrea Castle.

The castle through the trees

It has weathered the centuries well

I hope I look that good when I’m that age!

And now let’s journey into the castle, where its architecture reminds you that you are stepping into another age.

Shame it’s so muddy, but often there’s broken beer bottles, which is worse

Often times when I come into Kilcrea Castle, the first thing I see is broken beer bottles. And it makes me sad. Five hundred years this castle has survived, only to be treated with such disrespect. Fortunately there are many efforts to clean up the castle, and when I arrived in the castle I noticed very little glass.

Keep your wits about you on those stairs!

This picture makes me a bit emotional.

Getting close to the top.

Kilcrea Friary in the distance

Top Floor!

I reached the top, and you know, it’s actually quite nice on a summer’s day without the roof. You’ve got a wonderful blue sky above you, it’s lovely! And from up here, the view off into the distance is incredible.

The green fields on a summer’s day (technically spring but you know what I mean!)

I want to live here.

So happy to be here!

Crows love good weather too!

There were a lot of pigeons in the castle as I arrived, sadly my presence frightened them away, I’d be curious to know if they actually live there or if they were just in there temporarily. But I’ve recently developed a strong interest in bird and insect photography, so I had a strong curiosity about what lives in Kilcrea castle. Well, the answer is, so many spiders! Sadly, none that I could see, they must have been off doing something else, but there are so, so many spider webs in Kilcrea castle!

Spider web

Another spider web

And another one!

So that’s interesting to know, while no human lives there now, the main resident right now seems to be spiders! And that makes me quite happy to know, because spiders are one of my favourite animals! But if they’re not, don’t worry, I’ve got some more horse pictures!

A lot of horses now live around Kilcrea Castle

Hope you’re enjoying the sun horse!

Peaceful

I set off for the castle early enough in the day, so there was still time to visit another place I often visit on my way back from Kilcrea Castle, Ballincollig Regional Park. So I hopped on the bike and left the Castle behind, but I’ve been regularly visiting the castle for the better part of ten years, so I’ll definitely return.

It was a hot day, so the few hills that were there were a bit tough. Also I was wearing jeans. If you’re wondering what madness possessed me to wear jeans, on a hot day, while riding a bike, well, my most comfortable pants for cycling are my tracksuit pants, but tracksuit pants have terrible pockets. So I hope that was a satisfying explanation for why I chose to wear jeans on a hot day, while cycling no less.

But overall, this was one of my most enjoyable cycles I’ve had in years. No matter how much you enjoy a cycle, there’s usually a long period during it, whether it’s because it’s too hot, too hilly, where you just want it to end. For me the just wanting it to end part didn’t start until I entered the city on the way back, and that was mainly because there was some heavy traffic, so the just wanting it to end didn’t start until I was almost home. So I can say this was one of the cycles where I spent the highest percentage of time being really, really happy! The blue sky, the beautiful sun, and even when it got too hot a nice cool breeze would give me some relief. It really was a great day for the bike!

I got into Ballincollig Regional Park, got some food and something to drink, and sat on one the benches. I watched the comings and goings of a pied wagtail, one of my favourite birds, and took some pictures.

Awwwwww you’re such a cute bird aren’t ya aren’t ya aren’t ya!

Best album cover ever!

I think this is one of the most hilarious photos I’ve ever taken, because it looks like the album cover of a pop rock duo from the eighties. I’ve already come up with a name for my imaginary pop duo, Wagtail and Crow! Will you buy their new album?

Wagtail’s gone solo now, perhaps had a falling out with Crow!

The River Lee flows through Ballincollig Regional Park, so you have great views of the river, such as these:

The Lee can be quite beautiful when it’s further away from the city

So blue!

A blue tit on a tree near the river

And I saw another adorable bird in the park. I’ve asked for identification on this bird, it looks like a robin, but I’m not sure, it looks a bit taller and thinner than a robin, but whatever they are they’re an adorable creature!:

Adorable Mystery Bird!

And my final place of interest I visited, before I got home and had a well deserved rest after my pedaling, was Fitzgerald’s park, a place I have been to many times since I was a child. It’s also got excellent views of the River Lee, and I also saw an adorable starling!

I love starlings their feathers are awesome!

The Lee from the Banks of the Lee Walkway, just outside Fitzgerald’s park

I cycled home, and spent the rest of the day out in the backyard, enjoying even more sun. Sometimes after a cycle my brain doesn’t know what it wants, it wants rest, five minutes later it wants lots of activity, then five minutes later it wants rest again, so what I usually do is listen to my body, and my muscles, and my muscles were saying, relax, relax, relax!

So that’s the conclusion of my tale of my first cycle of the year in Summer weather. Usually as we enter June or July, the cycling reduces a bit, the fear of being too cold being replaced by a fear of being far too hot, but I really hope this isn’t my last day of the year of Summer cycling!

Leave a comment